Shapes

[88] Shapes © Matt Lemon Photography. All Rights Reserved.
Sticker art at De Wallen, Amsterdam, The Netherlands. © Matt Lemon Photography. All Rights Reserved.

“There is a novelty to seeing the world in a square-crop.” – Eric Kim

This blog has been on a hiatus for over half a year now, during which time I’ve relocated several times, from Germany to the Netherlands, then to Austria and back to Germany, before finally returning to Northern Ireland where I had left over a year ago. I didn’t stop taking photos, far from it, but I’ve become an avid Instagram user of late and that has changed how I take and edit photos. Although Instagram has since introduced the possibility to share photos in portrait and landscape orientation, I am sticking to the original square shape, which is the same format I started taking photos in when I was a kid. Using Instagram hasn’t only affected the composition of my photos, I have also begun to tinker around with the filters the app offers. However, to quote Eric Kim again, “Ultimately the most important thing is to create a visually compelling image that speaks to our hearts or souls,”* and more often than not, I simply try to edit my photos so as to make them look as close to reality as possible.

I felt that the theme I previously used on this blog wasn’t a good fit anymore for square-shaped photos and I also wanted to switch to a tile-based theme to make it easier to browse through earlier posts. It was a bit of a difficult decision, especially since Modularity Lite has since been retired, meaning I couldn’t switch back to it if I would have changed my mind. As you can see, I finally chose the Cubic them, which I’m really happy with and I hope you’ll like it, too. For the time being, I will post predominantly square-shaped photos and starting from today, I will feature some of my favourite photos taken over the past eight months.

* I recommend taking a look at Eric Kim’s Composition Lesson #14: Square Format. In addition, you can also take a look at one more concise, and another more detailed article by Andrew S. Gibson about producing beautiful square format photos.

Leave a Reply

