Goodnight

[61] Goodnight - Matt Lemon Photography. All Rights Reserved.

Graffiti at Neue Promenade (Hackescher Markt), Berlin-Mitte, Germany. © Matt Lemon Photography. All Rights Reserved.

As I say goodbye to my native city once again, I chose a photo to feature as my final post from Berlin taken at its heavily gentrified new centre, where only a few traces remain that suggest what once was a borough brimming with subculture. While I can’t pretend I like how the neighbourhood has changed, I found myself returning there quite frequently over the past 1 1/2 years, to play backgammon at Café Cinema, listen to jazz at b-flat, have drinks at ESCHSCHLORAQUE rümschrümp, cake at Barcomi’s, falafel at dada falafel, and bánh mì at Babanbè, stroll over the weekly market at Neue Promenade, finally visit the New Synagogue, watch films in their original version at the Hackesche Höfe Cinema, and take photos around the Kunsthaus (Art House) Tacheles, now closed for the most part thanks to the owner HSH Nordbank and useless politicians. Next to the Tacheles is now a Lutter & Wegner restaurant for the rich, a contrast that to me, symbolises the old and new Berlin. The old is not all gone and to non-natives, the city might still be as exciting as ever. Having returned to live here again after many years abroad, however, I could never quite acclimatise to the new Berlin and remained a tourist in my own home town. But while the thought of settling down here again never crossed my mind, I had many great days in this city “and I’ll be back again, and again and again and again and again”.

One thought on “Goodnight

Leave a Reply

