Poppy

[48] Poppy - Matt Lemon Photography. All Rights Reserved.

Poppy. Berlin, Germany. © Matt Lemon Photography. All Rights Reserved.

Poppy #1

Homonyms are words that share the same spelling and the same pronunciation but have different meanings. ‘Teekesselchen’ (lit. small teapot) is a word game I used to play in my childhood where teams of two players each give clues about two homonyms, while trying to guess the other teams’ homonyms before they will guess their own. While giving the clues, the word ‘Teekesselchen’ is used instead of the homonym, e.g. “My Teekesselchen is part of a plant.” – “My Teekesselchen is a criminal activity.” (Can you guess what it is?) My dad once got mixed up when giving his clue and instead of ‘Teekesselchen’ said the actual homonym, which then became one of those family stories that we all smile about when remembering it. Today, instead of a clue, he gave me a beautiful bouquet of poppies for my birthday, for which he came all the way to Berlin to spend some time with me. This photo will always remember me of him and of spending my 40th birthday together.

Poppy #2

Poppy Ackroyd is a performer and composer from London who is currently based in Edinburgh. Classically trained on violin and piano, she fell in love with contemporary piano music and with the piano beyond the keys, discovering the world of sound that could be made from other parts of the instrument. Realising the violin had the same potential, she has spent the last few years composing delicate, intricate and beautifully atmospheric music by manipulating and multi-tracking sounds from these two instruments. She’s a member of the Hidden Orchestra, one of my very favourite bands, and last year, she released her debut solo album ‘Escapement’. The below video features both poppies and my home town Berlin where I currently live. You can visit Poppy’s website here.

One thought on “Poppy

Leave a Reply

